Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Award Programs


The ILSI North America Future Leader Award, given annually to promising nutrition and food scientists, allows new investigators the opportunity to add to an existing project or to conduct exploratory research that might not receive funding from other sources or add to an existing project. Consideration will be given to individuals proposing research in the areas of experimental nutrition, nutrition and toxicology, and nutrition and food science. Grants extend for a period of 2 years at a funding level of $15,000 USD per year. Funds may not be used for overhead or to support the investigator's salary. The 2016 award recipients will be selected in late 2015, with funding to begin by early 2016. The submission deadline for the 2016 award is 19 June 2015.  For more information, please contact Courtney Kelly McComber at​ or click here. 

Future Leader Award Recipients 
Ryan Dilger, PhD
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
“Perinatal choline status and cognitive functions”
Sam Nugen, PhD
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
“Bacteriophage engineering for rapid pathogen detection”
Jason Locasale, PhD 
Cornell University
"Quantitative modeling for biomarker assessment of carbohydrate metabolism"
Tiffany Weir, PhD
Colorado State University
"Identifying genomic and microbiome influence on response to dietary interventions for improved lipid parameters"
Julie Gohlke, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham
"Nutrition-toxicity interactions in Daphnia pulex, developing an alternative model organism for early life exposures"

Joann McDermid, PhD
Cornell University
"Forging an understanding of the double-edged iron sword and immunity"


The Babcock-Hart Award is given to an individual who has made distinguished contributions to food technology resulting in improved public health through some aspect of nutrition or development of more nutritious foods. The winner receives a check for $3,000 USD, which is presented at the annual meeting of the Institute of Food Technologists ( For more information, please contact ​Courtney Kelly McComber at​​​.

Babcock-Hart Award Recipients

Fereidoon Shahidi, Ph.D,University Research Professor in Biochemistry at Memorial University, Canada, and cross-appointed to Biology, Ocean Sciences, and Aquaculture, has received the 2014 Babcock-Hart Award for his outstanding and substantial contributions to lipid science and technology, muscle foods, natural antioxidants, and functional foods.

Shahidi is the author of 740 peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters, 64 books, and nine patents. He is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Functional Foods, Editor of Food Chemistry, editorial/advisory board member of the Journal of Food Science, Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, Journal of Food Science and Human Wellness, Journal of Food Bioscience, and Current Nutrition and Food Science. Shahidi is globally recognized for his contributions to food science and technology, has received numerous awards, and is a most highly cited scholar.

Richard Mattes, MPH, PhD, RD
Purdue University and Indiana University School of Medicine
Richard Black, PhD
Kraft Foods Global 


The Mary Swartz Rose Memorial Graduate Award is given to a promising graduate student working toward a doctorate in dietetics. Although ILSI North America provides the funding ($2,500 USD), the award is administered by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetice ( For more information, please contact Courtney Kelly McComber at​​​.
Mary Swartz Rose Memorial Graduate Award Recipients
YuanYuan Li
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Hang Xiao, PhD
University of Massachusetts – Amherst
Katie Smith
Iowa State University, Ames


The Osborne and Mendel Award is administered by the American Society for Nutrition ( This award is given in recognition of recent outstanding basic research accomplishments in the field of nutrition. The winner receives a check for $2,500 USD and an engraved plaque. For more information, please contact ​​Courtney Kelly McComber at ​​​.
Osborne and Mendel Award Recipients
Patrick Stover, PhD, Cornell University
Robert Chapkin, PhD
Texas A&M University​​​
Margherita Cantorna, PhD
Pennsylvania State University

The Movers and Shakers Award is given to ILSI North America members who consistently play key roles in bringing programs and projects of the organization to completion. Members receive a plaque and recognition at the ILSI North America Annual Meeting. For more information, please contact Courtney Kelly McComber at
Movers and Shakers Award Recipients
Dan Skyrpec
Mondelez International
Jean Anderson
General Mills Inc.
Margaret Leahy, PhD
The Coca-Cola Company
Les Smoot
Nestlé USA